Secret Identities

Secret Origins: Book Two

Secret Identities

Secret Identities

Secret Origins: Book Two

Short Novel by J. D. Brink



Everyone has secrets. The game is keeping yours and finding theirs.

 Lose the game, you lose your life.

Gabriel Simonson was a con man and jewel thief. But he’s just been promoted to the inner circle of the most infamous supervillain in America. 

Warlocke’s newest plot, however, may set Gabe and his fellow henchman on a collision course with rival villain Rosethorn, the undisputed metahuman drug baron of the West Coast. If these two criminal empires go to war, California may not survive.

The only way to stop a crime war: uncover one very important secret…

The second installment of the Secret Origins series is a short novel of mystery, noir, and capes, and reveals the story behind some of the most infamous characters of the Identity Crisis Universe. This book also includes the very first superhero story of the IDCU, “Dreams of Flying.”

Discover more Identity Crisis Universe titles:

   Hungry Gods (Identity Crisis: 1)

   Masks (Secret Origins: 1)

   Secret Identities (Secret Origins: 2)

   Invasion (Identity Crisis 2029: 1)

   Silk Spider: Behind the Eight-Ball

   Medicine Man

   Puppet Theatre

   Dreams of Flying

…And more on the way!


If taking a college fencing class, eating from the trash can, and smelling like an animal were qualifications for becoming a sword-swinging barbarian, J. D. Brink might be Conan’s protégé. But since that career path seemed less than promising, he has instead been a sailor, spy, nurse, and officer in the U.S. Navy, as well as a gravedigger, insurance adjuster, and school teacher in civilian life. Today (spring, 2016) he and his family are stationed in Japan, where he’s providing a bad example for all Americans. In his writing, as in life, Mr. Brink enjoys dabbling in multiple genres.