Boot Scoot

A Dawna Shepherd Short Story

Boot Scoot

Boot Scoot

A Dawna Shepherd Short Story

Short Story by Diana Deverell

$2.99 available in bundle


Dawna Shepherd loves her family, working as an FBI Special Agent, and playing basketball.

She’s celebrating Christmas in her home town when a bounty hunter pursues her college student brother home from Lubbock.

Certain that Fugitive Team Leader Tommy O’Brien is chasing the wrong quarry, Dawna stops him cold at the Shepherd front door.

But she knows O’Brien won’t give up. And all her crime-fighter instincts are screaming that the bounty hunter is going to ruin this holiday for someone she loves.

Can law-abiding Dawna find a way to save Christmas?

Nominated by members of Mystery Readers International for the 2003 Macavity Award for best mystery short story, “Boot Scoot” shows a softer side to the hardnosed FBI agent who appears regularly in Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine and whose past adventures are collected in Run & Gun: A Dozen Tales of Girls with Guns. Dawna plays a supporting role in three Casey Collins international thrillers, the most recent release being China Box.


A native Oregonian, Diana Deverell was a US Foreign Service Officer and served in Washington DC, San Salvador, and Warsaw, before she moved to rural Denmark to write full-time.

She debuted as a published writer in 1998 with 12 Drummers Drumming, her first Casey Collins International Thriller.

Her latest release is China Box, the fourth novel in the series, which picks up Casey’s story fifteen years after events in the previous volume.

Diana also writes the Nora Dockson Legal Thriller series, featuring an ex-con turned feisty appeals lawyer. The first three books are Help Me Nora, Right the Wrong, and Hear My Plea. The fourth book, Judge Me Not, will be released in late 2016.

Diana’s short fiction stars FBI Special Agent Dawna Shepherd. Dawna’s fifteenth published adventure “Shaken, Not Stirred” is in the Jan/Feb 2016 edition of Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine.

The FBI Special Agent also appears in China Box and Night on Fire, second in the Casey Collins International Thriller Series.

To hear what’s next, Sign up for News on Diana’s website.